Department of Eastern Christian Studies, Stockholm School of Theology

The Department of Eastern Christian Studies, Stockholm School of Theology is a place for research and teaching related to the history, theology, politics, culture and liturgy of Eastern Christianity.

New application period starts on March 15, 2021

You can apply on universityadmissions.se or antagning.se

A Unique Collaboration

The Department of Eastern Christian Studies offers a unique form of education – within Sankt Ignatios College – which combines university studies and Folkhögskola in order to provide the training of Orthodox priests, deacons and parish educators.

An Unrivalled Education

At the Department students can study for bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral degrees. The Department offers three master’s programs, in Eastern Christian Studies, International Relations and Ecumenism, and in Religion, Politics and Democracy. Students are taught by renowned scholars and committed teachers, who are not only experts in their fields but who are also involved in the life of the Church.

A Broader Vision

The department works toward the advancement of democratic values, freedom, justice and ecumenical relations. The Department has a strong focus on the ways in which academic study can support and encourage the development of more just and democratic structures both within the Church and in society.

CONTACT
Department of Eastern Christian Studies

Anne-Christine Lindvall

Deputy dean of College and the deputy dean at the Department of Eastern Christian Studies UCS

anne-christine.lindvall@ehs.se

More about Anne-Christine Lindvall

Cyril Hovorun

Professor of Ecclesiology, International Relations and Ecumenism

cyril.hovorun@ehs.se

More about Cyril Hovorun

Daniel Öhrvall

Adjunct

Davor Džalto

Professor in Religion, Art and Democracy

davor.dzalto@ehs.se

More about Davor Džalto

Gabriel Bar-Sawme

Doctoral student, Adjunct

gabriel.barsawme@sanktignatios.org

Grant White

Teol. dr, Senior lecturer

grant.white@sanktignatios.org

More about Grant White

Haileyesus Alebachew

Teol.dr., Adjunct

haileyesus.alebachew@sanktignatios.org

Michael Hjälm

Dean of the Department of Eastern Christian Studies, Doctor of Theology, Senior Lecturer

michael.hjalm@ehs.se

More about Michael Hjälm

Miriam Hjälm

PhD, Senior lecturer, Campus Södertälje

08-550 980 66

miriam.hjalm@sanktignatios.org

More about Miriam Hjälm

Pierre Aziz Nehme

Director of studies, Eastern Church Studies

pierre.aziz.nehme@ehs.se

More about Pierre Aziz Nehme

Rikard Roitto

Docent, senior lecturer

rikard.roitto@ehs.se

More about Rikard Roitto

Robert A Kitchen

PhD, Adjunct

robert.kitchen@sanktignatios.org

Serafim Smensgård

Chaplain

serafim.smensgard@sanktignatios.org

Sofia Camnerin

Vice president and Dean of the Department of Religious Studies and Theology

sofia.camnerin@ehs.se

More about Sofia Camnerin

Youhanna N Youssef

Teol. dr, Senior lecturer

youhanna.youssef@sanktignatios.org